Report to: Special Council

Date: **19 December 2023**

Title: **Honorary Alderman – Nominations**

Portfolio Area: Leader – Cllr Ewings

Wards Affected: All

Urgent Decision: N Approval and Y

clearance obtained:

Date next steps can be taken: If approved, a

formal

presentation will take place after this Special Council meeting at 12.30pm

Author: **Darryl White** Role: **Head of Democratic**

Services

Contact: <u>Darryl.White@swdevon.gov.uk</u>

RECOMMENDATION:

That, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, Special Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman of the Council upon:

- (a) Mr Mike Davies
- (b) Miss Diana Moyse
- (c) Mr Terry Pearce; and
- (d) Mr Paul Ridgers.

1. Executive summary

- 1.1 The purpose of this report is to seek approval, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, to the nominations of Mike Davies; Diana Moyse; Terry Pearce; and Paul Ridgers to receive the title of Honorary Alderman of the Council, in recognition of their service and dedication to the local community.
- 1.2 The legislation also states that Special Council meeting(s) can be specially convened for the purpose of approving nominations

- for persons to receive the title of Honorary Aldermen of the Council.
- 1.3 A nominee requires the support of not less than two-thirds of the Members voting thereon at this Special Council meeting.
- 1.4 This report requests that the Council now confers the title of Honorary Alderman on:
 - Mike Davies;
 - Diana Moyse;
 - Terry Pearce; and
 - Paul Ridgers

2. Background

- 2.1 The title is conferred upon persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of that Council, but who are not then Members of the Council' (Section 249(1), Local Government Act 1972).
- 2.2 At the Annual Council meeting held on 30 May 2023, the Council agreed the following criteria for conferring the title of Honorary Aldermen (Minute CM 12/23 refers):
 - i. the title may be conferred on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered "eminent services" to the Council as past Members, but who are no longer serving Members. (NB. whilst not a definitive list, "eminent service" will ordinarily include having been: the Leader of the Council and/or a Group Leader for at least one Council Term; and the Mayor and/or the Chairman of one of its principal Committees for an extended period of time)
 - ii. there shall be no specific definition of 'eminent services', it being left to the discretion of the Council at the time to assess and recognise any individual's contribution to the activities of the Council and the wellbeing of the borough of West Devon;
 - iii. nominees would normally require a minimum period of more than two full Council terms of service as a Member of the Council; and
 - iv. in the event of an Honorary Aldermen being re-elected as a Borough Councillor, then they will cease to hold the office of Alderman.
- 2.3 Group Leaders have been consulted and nominations have been received for Mr Mike Davies, Miss Diana Moyse, Mr Terry Pearce and Mr Paul Ridgers to be conferred the title of Honorary

Aldermen and these nominations are presented to this Special Council meeting for consideration;

2.4 In making these nominations, Group Leaders wished to make the point that there were a number of worthy indviduals who they could have nominated from previous Council administrations. However, given that the criteria was only approved earlier this year and the vast majority of serving Members would not have known ex-Councillors from the 2007-11, 2011-15 and 2015-19 Council administrations, then Group Leaders were of the view that nominations should have been exclusively received from those ex-Councillors who had served during the 2019-23 Council term.

2.5 Mr Mike Davies

- i) Mike served as a local Ward Member for Okehampton North for 8 years (2015 – 23);
- During his terms of office, Mike's roles included being the Deputy Mayor (2017/18 Municipal Year), Mayor (2018/19 Municipal Year) and the Chairman of the Council's Audit Committee (from May 2015 to May 2022);

2.6 **Miss Diana Moyse**

- i) Diana served as a local Ward Member for Burrator for 24 years (1999 2023);
- ii) During these 24 years, Diana's roles on the Council included being the Vice-Chairman of the Council's Future Planning & Housing Committee (from May 2003 to May 2007); the Chairman of that Committee (from May 2007 to May 2011) and the Vice-Chairman of the Overview & Scrutiny Committee (from May 2013 to May 2015);

2.7 **Mr Terry Pearce**

- Terry was first elected as the local Ward Member for Mary Tavy in May 2007 and served on the Borough Council for 16 years before retiring from the office in May 2023;
- ii) In his 16 years of service to the Borough Council, Terry's senior roles included being the Deputy Mayor (from May 2021 to May 2023), Mayor (2008/09 Municipal Year) and the Vice-Chairman of the Development Management & Licensing Committee (from May 2019 to May 2023)

2.8 Mr Paul Ridgers

i) Paul served as the local Ward Member for Drewsteignton for 24 years (1999 – 2023);

ii) In those 24 years of service, Paul served as the Chairman of the Council's Environment and Health Committee (from May 2003 to May 2005) and the Chairman of the Council's Overview & Scrutiny (External) Committee (2015/16 Municipal Year).

3. Outcomes/outputs

- 3.1 Whilst having no "legal or social precedence" in the community, it is custom and practice for Honorary Aldermen to be invited to Civic ceremonial events. This would be the Annual Council meeting, the Mayor's Civic events, and other events such as any future appointment of Honorary Aldermen.
- 3.2 The status of Honorary Alderman carries no special right to attend or address meetings of the Council or its committees or to receive any allowances or payments to which serving Members are entitled. However, at the discretion of the Chairman, a nominee for Honorary Alderman may (if present) be invited to respond to the vote conferring that status.

4. Proposed Way Forward

- 4.1 It is recommended that the Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on Mike Davies, Diana Moyse, Terry Pearce and Paul Ridgers as highlighted in this report;
- 4.2 On the assumption that these nominations are approved by Special Council, then a presentation will be held on the rising of this meeting during which the Alderman title will be formally conferred.

6. Implications

Implications	Relevant to proposals Y/N	Details and proposed measures to address
Legal/Governance	Υ	Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972
Financial implications to include reference to value for money		None directly arising from this report
Risk		None directly arising from this report
Supporting Corporate Strategy		Council – Delivering efficient and effective services.
Climate Change - Carbon /		None directly arising from this report

	_		
Biodiversity			
Impact			
Comprehensive Impact Assessment Implications			
Equality and	None directly arising from this report		
Diversity			
·			
Safeguarding	None directly arising from this report		
Community	None directly arising from this report		
Safety, Crime			
and Disorder			
Health, Safety	None directly arising from this report		
and Wellbeing			
Other	N/A		
implications			

<u>Supporting Information</u> **Appendices:** None

Background Papers:

None